MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING BOARD OF EDUCATION HOMER COMMUNITY SCHOOL July 20, 2020

A meeting of the Board of Education of Homer Community School was convened in open and public session on Monday, July 20, 2020 at 7:00 p.m. in the Library at the Homer Community School at Homer, Nebraska. The following board members were present or absent:

Present: Carrie Vanschoiack, Aaron Reis, Byron Hall, Paul Tighe, Kristina Nelsen and Tyler Kirkholm

Administration present: Superintendent Gregg Cruickshank, Principal Seth Lembke & Board Secretary Trish Rohde

Visitors present: None

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

I. <u>Call Meeting to Order and Notification of Open Meeting Law</u>

The meeting was duly called to order and the Chairperson announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Library.

II. <u>Roll Call</u> – All members are present.

III. Approval of Agenda and Changes to Agenda

Motion was made by Reis and seconded by Vanschoiack to approve the agenda as presented. On roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Vanschoiack, Nelsen, Tighe, Kirkholm, Reis, Hall The motion carried 6-0.

IV. Closed Session

Motion was made by Reis and seconded by Nelsen to enter closed session at 7:02 p.m. for emergency preparedness and planning, to ensure student confidentiality, and because doing so is clearly necessary for the protection of the public interest.

On roll call vote, the board voted as follows: Voting for: Nelsen, Tighe, Kirkholm, Reis, Hall, Vanschoiack The motion carried 6-0.

The board came out of closed session.

Motion was made by Vanschoiack and seconded by Reis to convene to regular session at 8:59 p.m. On roll call vote, the board voted as follows:

Voting for: Tighe, Kirkholm, Reis, Hall, Vanschoiack, Nelsen The motion carried 6-0.

V. <u>Action Items</u>

Motion was made by Reis and seconded by Vanschoiack to adopt the 2020-2021 Return to School Plan, effective July 20, 2020. On roll call vote, the board voted as follows:

Voting for: Kirkholm, Reis, Hall, Vanschoiack, Nelsen, Tighe The motion carried 6-0.

VI. Motion to Adjourn

Motion was made by Vanschoiack and seconded by Reis to adjourn the meeting at 9:00 p.m. on July 20, 2020. On roll call vote, the board voted as follows:

Voting for: Reis, Hall, Vanschoiack, Nelsen, Tighe, Kirkholm The motion carried 6-0.

The meeting was duly adjourned.

Dated this 20th day of July, 2020.

ATTEST: Kristina Nelsen Secretary Dakota County School District #31R a/k/a Homer Community School BY: Paul Tighe, President