MINUTES OF A SPECIAL MEETING BOARD OF EDUCATION HOMER COMMUNITY SCHOOL

January 28, 2019

A meeting of the Board of Education of Homer Community School was convened in open and public session on Monday, January 28, 2019 at 7:00 p.m. at Homer Community School, Homer, Nebraska. The following board members were present or absent:

Present: Paul Tighe, Carrie Vanschoiack, Aaron Reis, Byron Hall, Tyler Kirkholm, Kristina Nelsen

Administration present: Superintendent Gregg Cruickshank & Board Secretary Trish Rohde

Visitors present: None

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

I. Call Meeting to Order and Announcement of Open Meeting Act

The meeting was duly called to order and the Chairperson announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted on the wall of the Library.

II. Roll Call

All members are present.

III. Approval of Agenda

Motion was made by Reis and seconded by Vanschoiack to approve the agenda as provided. On roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Vanschoiack, Nelsen, Tighe, Kirkholm, Reis, Hall The motion carried 6-0.

IV. Action Item

Motion was made by Kirkholm and seconded by Reis to approve the resignation from Melanie Nelsen for the 2018/2019 school year. On roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Tighe, Kirkholm, Reis, Hall, Vanschoiack

Abstaining: Nelsen The motion carried 5-0.

V. Motion to Adjourn

Motion was made by Vanschoiack and seconded by Reis to adjourn the meeting at 7:05p.m. on January 28, 2019. On roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Tighe, Kirkholm, Reis, Hall, Vanschoiack, Nelsen The motion carried 6-0.

The meeting was duly adjourned.

Dated this 28th day of January, 2019.

Dakota County School District #31R a/k/a Homer Community School BY: Paul Tighe, President

ATTEST: Kristina Nelsen Secretary