# MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING BOARD OF EDUCATION HOMER COMMUNITY SCHOOL April 16, 2018

A special meeting of the Board of Education of Homer Community School was convened in open and public session on Monday, April 16, 2018 at 7:00 p.m. in the Library at Homer Community School in Homer, Nebraska. The following board members were present or absent:

Present: Carrie Vanschoiack, Byron Hall, Tyler Kirkholm, Tim Murphy and Paul Tighe

Absent: Aaron Reis

Administration present: Superintendent Gregg Cruickshank, Principal Lora Crowe and Board Secretary Trish Rohde

Visitors present: None

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

# I. <u>Call Meeting to Order</u> and <u>Notification of Open Meeting Law</u>

The meeting was duly called to order and the Chairperson announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Library.

#### II. Roll Call

All members are present except Reis.

Motion was made by Vanschoiack and seconded by Murphy to excuse Member Reis from the meeting. On roll call vote, the board voted as follows:

Voting for: Vanschoiack, Hall, Kirkholm, Tighe, Murphy

The motion carried 5-0.

### III. Approval of Agenda and Changes to Agenda

Motion was made by Murphy and seconded by Vanschoiack to approve the agenda as presented. On roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Tighe, Hall, Murphy, Kirkholm and Vanschoiack

The motion carried 5-0.

#### IV. Action Items

Motion was made by Murphy and seconded by Vanschoiack to approve the resignation of Dennis Redel, High School Science. On roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Hall, Murphy, Kirkholm, Vanschoiack and Tighe

The motion carried 6-0.

Motion was made by Kirkholm and seconded by Vanschoiack to approve the resignation of Randy Pirner, High School Principal. On roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Murphy, Kirkholm, Vanschoiack, Tighe, Hall The motion carried 5-0.

# V. <u>Closed Session</u>

Superintendent Cruickshank recommended the board go into closed session. Motion was made by Vanschoiack and seconded by Murphy to go into closed session at 7:03 p.m. to discuss administration options as it relates to collective bargaining with administration, level of staffing, and budget considerations. On roll call vote, the board voted as follows:

Voting for: Kirkholm, Vanschoiack, Tighe, Hall, Murphy

The motion carried 5-0.

The board reconvened to open session at 8:19 p.m.

## IV. Motion to Adjourn

Motion was made by Murphy and seconded by Vanschoiack to adjourn the meeting at 8:20 p.m. on April 16, 2018. On roll call vote, the board voted as follows:

Voting for: Vanschoiack, Tighe, Hall, Murphy, Kirkholm

The motion carried 5-0.

The meeting was duly adjourned.

Dated this 16<sup>th</sup> day of April, 2018.

ATTEST: Dakota County School District #31R Carrie Vanschoiack a/k/a Homer Community School

Secretary BY: Paul Tighe, President