# MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING BOARD OF EDUCATION HOMER COMMUNITY SCHOOL June 28, 2018

A special meeting of the Board of Education of Homer Community School was convened in open and public session on Thursday, June 28, 2018 at 8:00 p.m. in the Library at Homer Community School in Homer, Nebraska. The following board members were present or absent:

Present: Aaron Reis, Byron Hall, Tim Murphy, Tyler Kirkholm and Paul Tighe

Absent: Carrie Vanschoiack

Administration present: Superintendent Gregg Cruickshank, Principal Lora Crowe and Board Secretary Trish Rohde

Visitors present: None

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

## I. Call Meeting to Order and Notification of Open Meeting Law

The meeting was duly called to order and the Chairperson announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted in the Library.

## II. Roll Call

Roll call was taken and all members are present except Vanschoiack.

Motion was made by Murphy and seconded by Reis to excuse Member Vanschoiack from the meeting. On roll call vote, the board voted as follows:

Voting for: Reis, Hall, Murphy, Kirkholm, Tighe

The motion carried 5-0.

## III. Approval of Agenda

Motion was made by Reis and seconded by Kirkholm to approve the agenda as presented. On roll call vote, the board voted as follows:

Voting for: Tighe, Reis, Hall, Murphy, Kirkholm

The motion carried 5-0.

#### IV. Closed Session

Motion was made by Reis and seconded by Kirkholm to go into closed session at 8:03 p.m. to discuss legal advice from the District's attorney, and to prevent the needless injury to the reputation of an individual who has not requested that the meeting be held in open session, and that it is in the public interest to go into closed session. On roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Reis, Hall, Murphy, Kirkholm, Tighe

The motion carries 5-0.

After the motion carried, the reason for entering closed session was restated.

Reconvene to public session.

Motion was made by Reis and seconded by Hall to reconvene to public session at 8:34 p.m. On roll call vote, the board voted as follows:

Voting for: Hall, Murphy, Kirkholm, Tighe, Reis

The motion carries 5-0.

## V. Action

Motion was made by Murphy and seconded by Reis to accept the resignation of Sharon Harral as Kindergarten Teacher. On roll call vote, the board voted as follows:

Voting for: Murphy, Kirkholm, Tighe, Reis, Hall

The motion carries 5-0.

## VI. Motion to Adjourn

Motion was made by Murphy and seconded by Reis to adjourn the meeting at 8:35 p.m. on June 28, 2018. On roll call vote, the board voted as follows:

Voting for: Kirkholm, Tighe, Reis, Hall, Murphy

The motion carries 5-0.

The meeting was duly adjourned.

Dated this 28th day of June, 2018.

ATTEST: Dakota County School District #31R
Trish Rohde a/k/a Homer Community School

Board Secretary BY: Paul Tighe, President