## MINUTES OF A SPECIAL MEETING BOARD OF EDUCATION HOMER COMMUNITY SCHOOL

February 26, 2019

A meeting of the Board of Education of Homer Community School was convened in open and public session on Tuesday, February 26, 2019 at 6:30 p.m. at Homer Community School, Homer, Nebraska. The following board members were present or absent:

Present: Paul Tighe, Aaron Reis, Byron Hall, Tyler Kirkholm

Absent: Kristina Nelsen, Carrie Vanschoiack

Administration present: Superintendent Gregg Cruickshank & Board Secretary Trish

Rohde

Visitors present: None

Notice of the meeting was given in advance by publication and/or posting in accordance with the Board approved method for giving notice of meetings. Notice of this meeting was given in to all members of the Board of Education. The Secretary of the Board maintains a list of the news media requesting notification of meetings and advance notification to the listed media of the time and place of the meeting and the subjects to be discussed at this meeting was provided. Availability of the agenda was communicated in the publicized notice and a current copy of the Agenda was maintained as stated in the publicized notice. All proceedings of the Board of Education, except as may be hereinafter noted, were taken while the convened meeting was open to the attendance of the public.

### I. Call Meeting to Order and Announcement of Open Meeting Act

The meeting was duly called to order and the Chairperson announced and informed the public that a current copy of the Open Meetings Act is posted on the wall of the Library.

### II. Roll Call

All members are present except Vanschoiack and Nelsen.

Motion was made by Reis and seconded by Kirkholm to excuse members Vanschoiack and Nelsen from the meeting. On roll call vote, the board voted as follows:

Voting for: Tighe, Reis, Hall, Kirkholm

Absent: Nelsen, Vanschoiack

The motion carried 4-0.

#### III. Approval of Agenda

Motion was made by Reis and seconded by Kirkholm to approve the agenda as provided. On roll call vote, the Board voted as follows:

Voting for: Reis, Hall, Kirkholm, Tighe

Absent: Nelsen, Vanschoiack

The motion carried 4-0.

#### IV. Action

Motion was made by Kirkholm and seconded by Reis to approve the hiring of Seth Lembke as the JH/HS Principal for the 2019-2020 school year. On roll call vote, the board voted as follows:

Voting for: Hall, Kirkholm, Tighe, Reis

Absent: Nelsen, Vanschoiack

The motion carried 4-0.

# V Adjournment

Motion was made by Kirkholm and seconded by Hall to adjourn the meeting at 6:37 p.m..

On roll call vote, the board voted as follows:

Voting for: Kirkholm, Tighe, Reis, Hall

Absent: Nelsen, Vanschoiack

The motion carried 4-0.

The meeting was duly adjourned.

Dated this 26th day of February, 2019.

Dakota County School District #31R a/k/a Homer Community School BY: Paul Tighe, President

ATTEST: Trish Rohde Secretary